Øystein Braaten
Slopestyle Team
[Norway]
Sponsored by

Øystein Braaten

I have been skiing almost through my entire life, and I started doing tricks on regular alpine skis when I was about 8 years old. Together with my snowboard-brother Gjermund, we started to build set-ups in our own backyard. We exercised every day and were pushing each other quite hard in endless sessions. This is probably the main reason why I got good at rails. A couple of years later, when I was 10, I came into a good ski gang at my local ski resort. The older guys met me with open arms and inspired me to be a skier. I wanted to be just like them. I started to do more jumping, and slopestyle became my favorite discipline.

Soon after I started to do quite well in competitions. I got sponsored by O’Neill when I reached 13, and the following year I started skiing on Völkl as well. Since then Völkl has helped me a lot. I am super stoked and grateful to them for all their assistance bringing my skiing career steps further.

This season (2010/2011) has been my best so far. I did my first doubles and did well in contests. The highlights were to get a spot in Backyard Battle in Sudndalen, Norway, and The European Open in Laax, Switzerland.

Random Facts

Gender: 
Male
Nickname: 
OB
Discipline: 
Slopestyle
Jester 16
Top results: 
2nd place at the SFR Tour in Vars 2014
2nd place in European Freeski Open Slopestyle 2014
4th place World Cup Slopestyle Silvaplana 2014
Winter Olympian Slopestyle Sochi 10th 2014
3rd Austrian Freeski Open 2012 Slopestyle
1st Place Norwegian Championship Slopestyle in 2010 and in 2011
Nationality: 
Norway
Home: 
Torpo
Motto: 
Ski or die

Interview

Inner Interview

Interview: 

What bindings do you use? And where do you mount them?

I only use the Marker Jester 16. Those are really solid and I mount them right in the middle of the ski.

What DIN do you have your bindings on?

12 normally, but in contests I tune them up to 13 and in slushy conditions I tune them down to 11.

RANDOM FACTS:

Favorite skier: Andreas Håtveit

Ski hero growing up: Åsmund Thorsen, John-Håvard Grøgard and Magnus Tveito, sickest guys alive!

Home mountain: Andreas Håtveit’s backyard and Gol resort Height: Ca.176 cm

Ideal day in the mountains: Waking up early and get the first tracks in a park where you get fast laps. Just shred all day long until the resorts close, and then have a session in my backyard in the evening!

How would you describe your style: I try to focus a lot on doing my tricks all ways, and keep them clean and with style.

Your biggest breakthrough in your skiing career: When I qualified to the world final in Salomon Jib Academy in Mammoth last season, and managed to get a place on the podium.

Favorite place to ride: Folgefonna (Norway) or in Andreas Håtveit’s backyard.

Best snow trip: That have to be my two trips to Breckenridge, Colorado. So much fun!

What age did you start to ski: I have skied pretty much my whole life, but I got my first twintips when I was 10.

What cant you live without: Skis and family.

Favorite phone App: Cliff Diving

Goals and plans: My plans for the feature is to do the same as I do right now. Ski every day, always try to progress and have fun.

Favorite Products