Raphael Webhofer
Freeride World Tour
[Austria]
Sponsored by

Raphael Webhofer

Raphael is a professional freeride skier from Austria. He was born in Innsbruck and started his skiing career only two years later. Growing up, his playground was the Tyrolean Alps. After a brief flirtation with racing, Raphael discovered freeskiing at the age of 12 and has never looked back. He competed in his first freeride competition at 15 and, despite being the youngest competitor, won it. He signed his first sponsorship immediately afterwards.

Raphael competed in the Free World Tour Juniors in 2012. In 2013, he moved up to the Freeride World Qualifiers. He podiumed in every FWQ event he entered in 2013 and came first in overall ranking. Raphael has now graduated to the Freeride World Tour - in the same year that he graduated from high school. He will be the youngest skier ever on the FWT.

This winter will be Raphael's first focusing entirely on skiing. The move up to the Freeride World Tour will be a big step up but he welcomes the challenge and is hoping to put in a solid overall performance while learning the ropes. He is also looking forward to skiing in all the cool places with FWT stops as well as in some of the more exotic locations his filming projects will take him. Of course, there will also be plenty of days at home in the Tyrol.

Random Facts

Gender: 
Male
Nickname: 
Raphi
Discipline: 
Freeride
Jester Pro
Top results: 
10th place at FWT in Courmayeur 2014
1st Place Overall FWQ Europe
1st Place Eldorado Freeride FWQ 4* 2013 (Andorra)
2nd Place Hochfügen FWQ 4* 2013 (Austria)
3rd Austrian Freeski Open 2012 Slopestyle
3rd Place La Clusaz FWQ 4* 2013 (France)
3rd Place Ruapehu Xtreme FWQ 3* 2013 (New Zealand)
1st Place Nature Ride 2010 (Austria)
Nationality: 
Austria
Home: 
Innsbruck
Hobbies: 
Rock climbing, Surfing, Mountainbiking, Speedflying, Slacklining
Motto: 
Carpe Diem

Interview

Inner Interview

Interview: 
What bindings do you use? And where do you mount them?

I use the Jester Pro and the Duke. On the Shiro I mount the binding 4 cm forward of traditional because this makes it easier to turn and spin but still offers enough tip for landings and charging lines.

What DIN do you have your bindings on?

I usually have them on 14 to 16 depending on the skiing I want to do.

RANDOM FACTS:

Favorite skier: Candide Thovex

Ski hero growing up: Seth Morrison

Home mountain: Tyrolean Alps

Height: 180

Ideal day in the mountains: waist deep powder and a couple of good friends

How would you describe your style: My skiing is pretty playful and I want it to look as smooth as possible. But I also really like technical, steep lines.

Your biggest breakthrough in your skiing career. Qualifying myself for the Freeride World Tour

Favorite place to ride: The Tyrolean Alps

Best snow trip: Tasman Glacier, New Zealand

What age did you start to ski: 3 years

What cant you live without: nature, friends, sports

Favorite phone App: probably WhatsApp

Goals and plans: Keep pushing my skiing as far as possible and always have fun. Travel the world on film trips, competitions and explore some crazy and remote places on my skis.