Ingrid Backstrom
International Freeski - Film
[United States]
Sponsored by

Ingrid Backstrom

The American has set the standard of the sport for girls in recent years with outstanding video segments, a benchmark that still remains untouched.

It wasn’t obvious in her youth, that Ingrid would go this way. While growing up in Seattle, she was skiing often in the surrounding areas, but when she went to Squaw Valley after graduating from college in 2000, she only intended to do one year of skibumming.

Today, the 32-year-old still resides in “Squallywood”, but not as a skibum, now as an internationally acclaimed freeski star. It all began with some freeride contests, where the trail running fan did very well despite not being the typical competition type. Her skiing caught the eye of video producers Matchstick Productions and in 2004 she entered the scene with a bang. Her incredible segment in MSP’s “Yearbook” earned her Powder Video Awards both for “Best Female Performance” and “Breakthrough Performance”. In the following years Ingrid kept pushing her limits, straightlining whole AK faces, dropping big cliffs with front- or backflips, simply doing things that before only men would do while skiing big mountains. Ingrid Backstrom has legitimised to call female skiers real big mountain rippers, and is far from being finished!


Random Facts

Big Mountain
Jester, Tour F12
Top results: 
7 years filming with MSP
Top 3 in 13/15 contests entered
First descent of 20,000ft Reddomaine Peak in China, recently skied Denali
United States
Seattle, WA and Squaw Valley, CA
Anything outside, cooking, reading, berry picking
Be here now


Inner Interview


What Marker bindings do you use? And where do you mount them?
I use Marker Jester bindings across the board all year, mounted one cm forward. For backcountry when I want to hike but still be solid, I have been loving the F12 Marker Tour bindings--they are so easy to use and bomber.

What DIN do you have your bindings on?
Probably 9 for every day, maybe ten for the big days. :)



Favorite skier: My family

Ski hero growing up: My family!

Ideal day in the mountains: A storm day with family and friends, stop for a coffee and a snack mid-day and then ski until the lifts close and no one else is out!

How would you describe your style: I just like to have fun and try to ski fast usually!

Your biggest breakthrough in your skiing career: When I was 23 and hit my first air at a freeskiing contest--I was like, oh, ok. This is really fun!

Favorite place to ride: West Coast, anywhere from Alaska down to California

Best snow trip: this winter in BC--all winter!

What age did you start to ski: 4 years old

What cant you live without: coffee

Favorite phone App. Twitter and Words With Friends

Goals and plans: Learn how to predict the weather

Favorite Products